Cyclo-cross North East (CXNE) has it’s origins in the old North East Cyclo Cross Association (NECCA) which was established in the 1950s. More recently, a rebranding exercise was undertaken to take the sport forward and bring in new technology such as chip timing, modern style courses, and the use of social media and the internet to bring the league together and create Cyclo-cross North East.

In the last four year the number of events and riders has grown almost exponentially the North East now hosts the North of England Championships and rounds of the National Trophy.


Cyclo-cross North East is a committee led organisation. We hold an Annual General Meeting each year where changes are proposed and the league setup is continually reviewed.

Current members of the committee include;

  • Lifetime President : Cliff Featherstone
  • Chairman : Jamie Brady
  • Secretary : Gary Worton
  • Treasurer : Keith Murray
  • League manager : John Mein
  • Sponsorship secretary : Tony Glover
  • Equipment manager : John Davidson
  • Young riders rep : Matthew Worton
  • Committee member : Jonathan Allan
  • Committee member : Iain Robertson


Each season CXNE has the support of a title sponsor. The support of title sponsors help us to continually develop the league. Recent sponsors include:

  • 2012-13 Rat Race Events
  • 2014-15 Ridley / Lazer
  • 2015-16 CycleArt
Last Modified: August 7th, 2015

Copyright © Cyclo-cross North East, 2016. Made with ♥ by AFWD.